top of page

Art Award Competitions

Each Year, TYTO Regional Art Gallery hosts two major Art Competitions which are open for entries to all emerging and established artists nationwide.

  1. The Hinchinbrook Birdlife Art Awards are held in October each year.

  2. The Hinchinbrook Art Awards are judged at the beginning of December, and are on display until the end of January each year. 

The Basics

To enter into either Art Awards, first read the Factsheet for the correct competition and complete an entry form. For the Birdlife Art Awards, entries must depict birds from the approved list. All artworks delivered to the gallery will need an artwork label and be fixed with appropriate fittings (such as D rings) to ensure artworks are displayed correctly in the competition. All resources can be downloaded below. 

Competition Dates

8th Hinchinbrook Birdlife Art Awards

Entry Forms Due: 4.00pm Friday 30 June 2023

Artwork Delivery: Monday 25 September 2023 - Saturday 30 September 2023

Opening Night: 6.00pm Friday 6 October 2023

Exhibition on Display: Saturday 7 October 2023 - Sunday 29 October 2023

Artwork Collection: Monday 30 October 2023

45th Hinchinbrook Art Awards

Entry Forms Due: 4.00pm Thursday 31 August 2023

Artwork Delivery: Monday 27 November 2023 - Sunday 3 December 2023

Opening Night: 6.00pm Friday 8 December 2023

Exhibition on Display: Saturday 9 December 2023 - Sunday 28 January 2024

Artwork Collection: Monday 29 January 2024

Meet the Judges

Each Art Awards hosted by Council is judged by a panel, comprising of a professional artist, local artist, and local Councillor.

 

The judges for the 8th Hinchinbook Art Awards in October are:

bottom of page